Council of EU finally approves visa-free regime for Ukraine

Council of EU finally approves visa-free regime for Ukraine

The Council of the European Union has approved visa-free regime for Ukraine without discussion.

The visa-free travels for Ukrainian citizens are to come into force on June 11, an Ukrinform own correspondent in Brussels reports.

Pursuant to the procedure, the documents should be subsequently signed by President of the European Parliament Antonio Tajani and the Permanent Representative of Malta to the EU.

President of Ukraine Petro Poroshenko plans to attend the signing ceremony in Strasbourg.

Once the visa waiver for Ukrainians enters into force, and provided citizens of Ukraine have biometric passports, they will be able to enter the EU for up to 90 days in any 180-day-period for business, tourist or family purposes. The visa waiver will apply to all EU member states except Ireland and the United Kingdom. It does not confer a right to work in the EU.


Let’s get started read our news at facebook messenger > > > Click here for subscribe

While citing and using any materials on the Internet, links to the website not lower than the first paragraph are mandatory. In addition, citing the translated materials of foreign media outlets is possible only if there is a link to the website and to the website of a foreign media outlet. Citing and using materials in offline media, mobile apps, Smart TV are allowed only with written permission from Ukrinform. News and publications marked as "Advertisement" and "PR" and articles in the section "Releases" include promoted content, and an advertiser is responsible for the content.

© 2015-2023 Ukrinform. All rights reserved.

Website design Studio Laconica

Extended searchHide extended search
By period: