Ukraine to restrict entry from eight African countries due to spread of Omicron variant

Ukraine to restrict entry from eight African countries due to spread of Omicron variant

The Cabinet of Ministers of Ukraine will restrict entry from South Africa and seven other African countries due to the spread of the new coronavirus variant Omicron.

Ukrainian Prime Minister Denys Shmyhal said this at a government meeting on Thursday, December 2, according to an Ukrinform correspondent.

"The WHO has recently warned that the new coronavirus variant Omicron poses a very high risk around the world and could lead to serious consequences. [...] To prevent the spread of the new coronavirus variant, we will adopt a resolution banning the crossing of the Ukrainian border by citizens of countries where the spread of the new variant has been recorded. These are South Africa, the Republic of Botswana, Zimbabwe, Namibia, the Republic of Mozambique and a number of other African countries," Shmyhal said.

At the same time, according to him, Ukrainian citizens arriving from these countries will have to self-isolate for 14 days.

Shmyhal added that such measures have already been introduced in the United Kingdom, Canada, the United States, Israel and other countries.

The Omicron variant was first discovered in southern Africa in November. Experts believe that it is spreading much faster than other coronavirus variants discovered by scientists during the pandemic and contains a large number of mutations.

The Omicron variant has already been recorded in more than 20 countries.


While citing and using any materials on the Internet, links to the website not lower than the first paragraph are mandatory. In addition, citing the translated materials of foreign media outlets is possible only if there is a link to the website and the website of a foreign media outlet. Materials marked as "Advertisement" or with a disclaimer reading "The material has been posted in accordance with Part 3 of Article 9 of the Law of Ukraine "On Advertising" No. 270/96-VR of July 3, 1996 and the Law of Ukraine "On the Media" No. 2849-Х of March 31, 2023 and on the basis of an agreement/invoice.

© 2015-2024 Ukrinform. All rights reserved.

Extended searchHide extended search
By period: