EU ambassadors approve visa-free regime for Ukraine

EU ambassadors approve visa-free regime for Ukraine

On Wednesday, the Committee of Permanent Representatives in the European Union (COREPER) has approved the draft legislative act on including Ukraine in the list of the third countries whose nationals should not be in possession of visas when crossing the borders of the EU Member States.

An Ukrinform correspondent learnt this from the Council of the European Union.

April 6, the European Parliament voted for the legislative resolution, allowing visa-free short-term travels to the EU countries for the Ukrainian citizens.

Pursuant to the procedure, the decision on granting Ukraine visa-free regime should be approved by the Council of the European Union with the subsequent signing by the presidents of the European Parliament and the Council of the European Union. The decision will come into force on the 20th day after publication.

Once the visa waiver for Ukrainians enters into force, and provided citizens of Ukraine have biometric passports, they will be able to enter the EU for up to 90 days in any 180-day-period for business, tourist or family purposes. The visa waiver will apply to all EU member states except Ireland and the United Kingdom. It does not confer a right to work in the EU.


While citing and using any materials on the internet that are open to search systems, hyperlinks to not lower than the first paragraph are mandatory. Citing and using materials in ofline-media, mobile apps, SmartTV are allowed only with receipt of a written permission from "". Materials marked Advertising are published based on the advertising rights.

© 2015-2017 Ukrinform. All rights reserved.

Website design Studio Laconica
Extended searchHide extended search
By period: