EU prolongs sanctions against 13 officials of Yanukovych regime for another year

EU prolongs sanctions against 13 officials of Yanukovych regime for another year

The European Union has finally approved the decision to extend for another year the restrictive measures imposed on 13 officials of Yanukovych regime, who are suspected of misappropriation of state funds.

The relevant decision was adopted by the Council of the European Union without discussion on Monday, Brussels-based Ukrinform correspondent reports.

"On 5 March 2018, the Council extended until 6 March 2019 the asset freezes against 13 persons identified as responsible for the misappropriation of Ukrainian state funds or for the abuse of office causing a loss to Ukrainian public funds," the statement reads.

However, the restrictive measures were not extended against two persons: former minister of justice Olena Lukash and ex-MP Serhiy Kliuyev.

Sanctions against officials of the Yanukovych regime were initially introduced in March 2014.

The EU imposed the restrictive measures on former President Viktor Yanukovych and his eldest son Oleksandr Yanukovych, former Prime Minister Mykola Azarov, ex-head of the presidential administration Andriy Kliuyev, former Prosecutor General Viktor Pshonka, ex-interior minister Vitaly Zakharchenko, former Vice Prime Minister Sergei Arbuzov and others.


Let’s get started read our news at facebook messenger > > > Click here for subscribe

While citing and using any materials on the internet that are open to search systems, hyperlinks to not lower than the first paragraph are mandatory. Citing and using materials in ofline-media, mobile apps, SmartTV are allowed only with receipt of a written permission from "". Materials marked Advertising are published based on the advertising rights.

© 2015-2018 Ukrinform. All rights reserved.

Website design Studio Laconica
Extended searchHide extended search
By period: