EU extends sanctions against ex-president Yanukovych, officials of his regime

EU extends sanctions against ex-president Yanukovych, officials of his regime

The Council of the European Union has extended personal sanctions against fugitive president of Ukraine Viktor Yanukovych and former Ukrainian officials of his regime for next 12 months.

The restrictive measures will come into force on March 6, an Ukrinform correspondent reports from Brussels.

"The Council of the European Union extended freezing of the assets of 15 people, who are responsible for the misappropriation of Ukrainian state-owned assets or abuse of power that led to the loss of state property, until March 6, 2018," the Council reports.

According to sources, former MP Yuriy Ivanyushchenko was removed from the sanctions list.

As reported, the EU on March 6, 2014, froze assets of former Ukrainian officials in office during Yanukovych's presidency: Viktor Yanukovych, ex-prime minister Mykola Azarov, former interior minister Vitaliy Zakharchenko, former prosecutor general Viktor Pshonka and his son Artem Pshonka, former justice minister Olena Lukash, former head of the presidential administration Andriy Kliuyev and his brother, former MP Serhiy Kliuyev, former deputy interior minister Viktor Ratushniak, former first vice prime minister Serhiy Arbuzov, former tax minister Oleksandr Klymenko, former energy minister Eduard Stavytsky, former education minister Dmytro Tabachnyk, and energy tycoon Serhiy Kurchenko.

The sanctions were last extended a year ago.


Let’s get started read our news at facebook messenger > > > Click here for subscribe
Extended searchHide extended search
By period:
*/ ?>