EU extends sanctions against representatives of Putin's regime

13.03.2017 16:18 714

The European Union has extended for next six months the personal sanctions against Russian, Ukrainian and Crimean residents involved in encroachment on the independence, sovereignty and territorial integrity of Ukraine.

An Ukrinform correspondent learnt this from the Council of the European Union.

The sanctions list includes 150 people: Russian officials (including those from the inner circle of Russian President Vladimir Putin), Ukrainian participants in terrorist organizations in Donbas and Crimean representatives of the Russian regime, involved in the encroachment on Ukraine's independence, sovereignty and territorial integrity. The restrictive measures consist of asset freezes and travel bans.  In addition, assets of 37 Russian companies are frozen in the territory of the European Union.

As reported, these restrictive measures were introduced in March 2014 and were last extended in September 2016.


Extended searchHide extended search
By period: