Stoltenberg: None of NATO countries recognizes annexation of Crimea

Stoltenberg: None of NATO countries recognizes annexation of Crimea

None of the member countries of the North Atlantic Alliance recognizes the annexation of Crimea by the Russian Federation.

NATO Secretary General Jens Stoltenberg stated this on the results of the first day of the NATO Summit in Brussels on July 11.

"All NATO member states strongly condemn Russia’s illegal and illegitimate annexation of Crimea, which we do not and will not recognise. The discrimination against the Crimean Tatars and members of other local communities must end. International monitoring structures must be allowed to carry out their essential work in view of the protection of human rights," the declaration of the NATO Summit reads.

Stoltenberg also added that the annexation of Crimea was one of the main reasons for the Alliance's strengthening of collective defense, which led to an increase in military presence in the Baltic countries, Poland and the Black Sea region.

On July 11, 2018, NATO countries at the summit confirmed the Euro-Atlantic aspirations of Ukraine.


Let’s get started read our news at facebook messenger > > > Click here for subscribe

While citing and using any materials on the Internet, links to the website not lower than the first paragraph are mandatory. In addition, citing the translated materials of foreign media outlets is possible only if there is a link to the website and to the website of a foreign media outlet. Citing and using materials in offline media, mobile apps, Smart TV are allowed only with written permission from Ukrinform. News and publications marked as "Advertisement" and "PR" and articles in the section "Releases" include promoted content, and an advertiser is responsible for the content.

© 2015-2020 Ukrinform. All rights reserved.

Website design Studio Laconica

Extended searchHide extended search
By period: