Visa-free regime for Ukraine with EU finally approved in Strasbourg

Visa-free regime for Ukraine with EU finally approved in Strasbourg

On Wednesday, May 17, in Strasbourg, President of Ukraine Petro Poroshenko took part in the signing ceremony of the legislative act on abolishing visa requirements for Ukrainians for short-term trips to the countries of the European Union and the Schengen zone.

The document was signed by President of the European Parliament Antonio Tajani and Minister for Home Affairs and National Security of Malta Carmelo Abela.

According to the legislative order, Ukraine is included to the list of third countries whose citizens are canceled visa requirements when travelling for short stays of up to 90 days to the Schengen area. The visa-free travel will apply to all EU Member States except for Ireland and the UK, as well as the countries of the Schengen area, including Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland. 

As expected, the visa-free travels for Ukrainian citizens are to come into force on June 11.


Let’s get started read our news at facebook messenger > > > Click here for subscribe

While citing and using any materials on the internet that are open to search systems, hyperlinks to not lower than the first paragraph are mandatory. Citing and using materials in ofline-media, mobile apps, SmartTV are allowed only with receipt of a written permission from "". Materials marked Advertising are published based on the advertising rights.

© 2015-2018 Ukrinform. All rights reserved.

Website design Studio Laconica
Extended searchHide extended search
By period: