European Parliament preliminary approves visa-free travel for Ukraine

European Parliament preliminary approves visa-free travel for Ukraine

European Parliament’s Committee on Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs has approved the draft legislative resolution on putting Ukraine on the list of third countries whose nationals may travel to the EU countries without visas.

The overwhelming majority of the Committee's members supported the resolution (39 voted “for”, 4 voted “against” and one abstained) at the meeting on Thursday, an Ukrinform correspondent in Brussels reports.

In accordance with the procedure, the European Parliament will finally vote on the draft decision on visa liberalization for Ukraine at the plenary session on April 5.

After the resolution is approved by the Council of the European Union in May, the visa-free regime for Ukrainian citizens will come into force on the 21st day after publication in June.

Once the visa waiver for Ukrainians enters into force, and provided citizens of Ukraine have biometric passports, they will be able to enter the EU for up to 90 days in any 180-day-period for business, tourist or family purposes. The visa waiver will apply to all EU member states except Ireland and the United Kingdom. It does not confer a right to work in the EU.


Let’s get started read our news at facebook messenger > > > Click here for subscribe

While citing and using any materials on the Internet, links to the website not lower than the first paragraph are mandatory. In addition, citing the translated materials of foreign media outlets is possible only if there is a link to the website and to the website of a foreign media outlet. Citing and using materials in offline media, mobile apps, Smart TV are allowed only with written permission from Ukrinform. News and publications marked as "Advertisement" and "PR" and articles in the section "Releases" include promoted content, and an advertiser is responsible for the content.

© 2015-2019 Ukrinform. All rights reserved.

Website design Studio Laconica

Extended searchHide extended search
By period: