Five more countries join EU sanctions over occupation of Crimea

Five more countries join EU sanctions over occupation of Crimea

Ukraine, Montenegro, Albania, Norway and Georgia have joined the so-called "Crimean sanctions" imposed by the European Union.

"Candidate countries Montenegro and Albania, Norway, which is the European Economic Area state, as well as Ukraine and Georgia have joined the declaration," reads the statement of High Representative of the EU for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy Federica Mogherini, Radio Liberty reports.

The countries guarantee that their national policies will be in line with the decision of the Council of the European Union on anti-Russian sanctions.

On June 18, the Council of the European Union extended the sanctions against Russia over the illegal annexation of Ukrainian Crimea and Sevastopol for another year. Restrictions apply to individuals and companies that have their departments within the EU.

The sanctions, which were extended until June 23, 2019, provide for, inter alia, the ban on import of goods produced in Crimea or Sevastopol into the EU, investments in Crimea, export of certain goods and technologies for Crimean companies.


While citing and using any materials on the Internet, links to the website not lower than the first paragraph are mandatory. In addition, citing the translated materials of foreign media outlets is possible only if there is a link to the website and to the website of a foreign media outlet. Citing and using materials in offline media, mobile apps, Smart TV are allowed only with written permission from Ukrinform. News and publications marked as "Advertisement" and "PR" and articles in the section "Releases" include promoted content, and an advertiser is responsible for the content.

© 2015-2019 Ukrinform. All rights reserved.

Website design Studio Laconica

Extended searchHide extended search
By period: