Twelve countries join G7 declaration on security guarantees for Ukraine - Zelensky

Twelve countries join G7 declaration on security guarantees for Ukraine - Zelensky

Twelve countries have already joined the G7 declaration on security guarantees for Ukraine.

Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelensky said this at a meeting with the heads of foreign diplomatic institutions, according to an Ukrinform correspondent.

"Security guarantees for Ukraine on its path to NATO. In the second half of this year, a package of security guarantees for our country will become quite concrete. To date, 12 partner countries have [already] joined the Joint Declaration with the Group of Seven. These are Belgium, Denmark, Ireland, Iceland, Spain, Norway, the Netherlands, Portugal, Romania, Finland, the Czech Republic, Sweden," Zelensky said.

Read also: U.S. confirms talks with Ukraine on security guarantees will kick off this week

He noted that work on bilateral agreements with partners would begin this week. According to him, the United States is the first country with which Ukraine will be working.

The U.S. this week confirmed the beginning of negotiations with Ukraine on security guarantees.

G7 leaders agreed on a joint declaration of support for Ukraine on the sidelines of the NATO summit in Vilnius on July 11-12.

While citing and using any materials on the Internet, links to the website not lower than the first paragraph are mandatory. In addition, citing the translated materials of foreign media outlets is possible only if there is a link to the website and the website of a foreign media outlet. Materials marked as "Advertisement" or with a disclaimer reading "The material has been posted in accordance with Part 3 of Article 9 of the Law of Ukraine "On Advertising" No. 270/96-VR of July 3, 1996 and the Law of Ukraine "On the Media" No. 2849-Х of March 31, 2023 and on the basis of an agreement/invoice.

© 2015-2024 Ukrinform. All rights reserved.

Extended searchHide extended search
By period: