NATO countries in OSCE call on Russia to withdraw its troops from Ukraine

NATO countries in OSCE call on Russia to withdraw its troops from Ukraine

NATO member states, as well as the NATO Invitees Finland and Sweden, in a joint statement called on Russia to stop its aggression against Ukraine and "fully and unconditionally" pull back its troops from Ukrainian territory.

According to an Ukrinform correspondent, a joint statement was adopted by 31 countries during the 29th OSCE Ministerial Council.

"We call on Russia to immediately stop its war of choice and fully and unconditionally withdraw from Ukraine," the statement reads.

It also contains a call on Russia "to cease its aggression and violations of international law and contravention of principles and commitments of the OSCE in all three dimensions of security encompassed in the Helsinki Final Act."

NATO member countries and Finland and Sweden said they "stand in full solidarity with the people and the Government of Ukraine in their heroic defense of their country."

"We reiterate our unwavering support for Ukraine’s independence, sovereignty, and territorial integrity within its internationally recognized borders extending to its territorial waters. We condemn and will never recognize Russia's illegal and illegitimate attempted annexation of Ukrainian territories, including Crimea. We fully support Ukraine’s inherent right to self-defense and to choose its own security arrangements. We will continue to provide the comprehensive support to Ukraine for as long as it takes," the statement said.

It also contains concerns about the rhetoric and actions of Belarus, which was urged "to stop its complicity in Russia's illegal war."

"Russia is the most significant and direct threat to our peace, security and stability. It seeks to establish spheres of influence and direct control through coercion, subversion, disinformation, aggression and illegal attempted annexations. Russia's military build-up, including in the Baltic, Black and Mediterranean Sea regions and the High North, along with its military integration with Belarus challenges our security," NATO member states said.

At the same time, they noted that they do not seek confrontation and pose no threat to Russia, but they "will continue to respond to Russia's threats and hostile actions in a united and responsible way."

The statement was delivered on behalf of the following NATO Allied participating States: Albania, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Czechia, Denmark, Estonia, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Montenegro, the Netherlands, North Macedonia, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Türkiye, the United Kingdom, and the United States of America, as well as the NATO Invitees Finland and Sweden.

While citing and using any materials on the Internet, links to the website not lower than the first paragraph are mandatory. In addition, citing the translated materials of foreign media outlets is possible only if there is a link to the website and the website of a foreign media outlet. Materials marked as "Advertisement" or with a disclaimer reading "The material has been posted in accordance with Part 3 of Article 9 of the Law of Ukraine "On Advertising" No. 270/96-VR of July 3, 1996 and the Law of Ukraine "On the Media" No. 2849-Х of March 31, 2023 and on the basis of an agreement/invoice.

© 2015-2024 Ukrinform. All rights reserved.

Extended searchHide extended search
By period: