Statement by Federica Mogherini: Six countries join EU decision to extend sanctions against Crimea

20.07.2016 16:58 427

Montenegro, Albania, Liechtenstein, Norway, Georgia and Ukraine have joined the European Union's decision to extend until June 23, 2017 the restrictive measures in response to the illegal annexation of Crimea and Sevastopol.

This is said in a declaration by High Representative of the EU for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy Federica Mogherini.

“The Candidate Countries Montenegro and Albania, and the EFTA countries Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine, and Georgia align themselves with this Council Decision,” reads the statement.

Mohgerini also added that such commitment will ensure that the national policies of the mentioned countries conform to the European Council Decision.

“The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it,” reads the statement.

As earlier reported, the European Union extended until 23 June 2017 the economic restrictive measures against the economy of Crimea that was temporary occupied by Russia.


Extended searchHide extended search
By period: